Connect - FAQ
How is Connect different from Instagram or WhatsApp?We believe that sharing with your friends and family should not require you to share your private life with data analysts and advertisers trying to monetize your online activity. Connect never collects, tracks, shares or analyses private data about what you share and who you share it with.
We also believe in the need to re-Connect with people who we really care about and dis-Connect from too much online noise. Connect does not use your phone number or email address to invite friends but relies on a unique and private Connect ID. By sharing this Connect ID with specific people only, you choose who to include in your exclusive and private circle of friends and family members.
Who can contact me?Others can only invite you on Connect if you share your private Connect ID with them. You will then need to accept their request before you can start messaging and sharing photo or video posts.
How do I find my friends on Connect?As opposed to most other messaging platforms, Connect does not scan your phone contacts or address book and can therefore not tell you which of your friends are already on Connect. You need to share your private Connect ID with them or ask them to share theirs.
Not only does this protect your privacy but it also allows you to choose who you really want to invite into your exclusive circle of Connect friends.
Who can see what I share on Connect?When you send a message (text, photo, video) to a single recipient, it is only visilbe by this specific recipient. Unless you or the recipient pin the message, it will automatically and permanently be deleted after 30 days.
When you send a message (text, photo, video) to a group, it is visilbe by all current and future members of the group. Unless you and or any of the group members pin the message, it will automatically and permanently be deleted after 30 days.
When you share a photo or video post, it is visible by all the friends and family members you are connected with on Connect. Posts are automatically and permanently deleted after 14 days.
If you post a comment on one of your friends' posts, your comment is only visible by the author of the post as well as friends you and the author have in common. The author's friends whom you are not connected with will not see your comment. Your friends who are not connected with the author of that post will neither see the post nor your comments.
You can be invited to a group with other participants who are not connected to you. While you can exchange messages with them in that common group, they will not be able to message you directly or see your posts.
Where is Connect developed and hosted?Connect is developed by Connected Tech Pte Ltd, a single-developer company based and registered in Singapore. Our server are hosted on a Cloud infrastructure in Switzerland.
When will Connect be officially launched?Connect is currently under development and an early iOS beta version can already be downloaded from Apple TestFlight. We hope to release the final version on the Apple Store before the end of June 2022, once we have addressed a few remaining bugs and rolled out some missing features such as:
- Improved encryption
- Ability to zoom on Posts (currently broken) and photos from Messages
- Custom notifications
- Sending PDF documents and contacts
- Clickable mentions in Posts and comments
- Better experience when sharing photos or videos from other apps
- Better UI when replying to messages
- Better Image picker and editor when sharing photos and videos
What about Android?We have just started working on Connect for Android devices and hope to have a first beta version available within the next few months.
Does Connect collect or share my data?Connect never tracks, analyzes or shares any of your private data.
We at Connect are strong advocates of data privacy. We have built Connect as an alternative messaging and photo sharing platform to keep your private life away from the traditional platforms.
When you signup or login with Connect, we require you to enter your name and phone number. Your phone number is only used as a login / authentication method when we send you the verification code by the SMS. We store your phone number on our server in case you logout and re-login again.
Your name is also stored on our server so that we can tell your friends who you are when you invite them, message them or share posts on Connect.
Messages you send to single recipients or groups are stored for 30 days. Unless pinned by you or any recipient, all messages are then automatically and permanently deleted after 30 days.
Posts you share on Connect are stored for 14 days and then automatically and permanently deleted from our servers.
To support its main functionalities, Connect needs to keep a list of other users you are connected to (your friends), groups you are participating to, as well as basic technical information such as your phone's make, model and system version, the the country you are connected from, the main language of your device and the date/time of your last connection. Finally, we use Crashlytics and Google Analytics to anonymously understand how our app performs.
How does Connect plan to make money?We at Connect are strong advocates of data privacy and are therefore committed to never monetize your private data. Connect does not and will never include any sort of advertising or data trackers. We also believe that basic messaging and photo sharing features should remain free for everyone.
In order to support our work, we will soon start accepting contributions from private donors who wish to encourage the development of this private and exclusive alternate messaging platform. We may also introduce peer-to-peer money transfer to your friends and other premium services in the future.